Particular foliages

Some species and varieties have a particular color of foliage, which is more a criterion for choosing an original tree, than an index of recognition (for uncommon trees).


the "deciduous" leaves last from spring to autumn of the same year while the "persistent" leaves last several years (scales from two to six years). Conifers are generally linked to the persistent foliages, but there are exceptions (deciduous Conifers). In the opposite, some some hardwoods (trees carrying flat leaves, unlike needles, for example of Pine, and scales, for example of Arborvitae) keep leaves more than one year, beyond winter :

evergreen hardwoods
Arbutus, Arbutus
Boxwood , Buxus (shrub)
Common Holly, Ilex aquifolium
Laurels, Laurus
Southern magnolia, Magnolia grandiflora
Cork oak, Quercus suber
Evergreen oak, Quercus ilex
Quercus myrsinifolia

Some hardwoods have marcescent leaves: those dry and stay on the tree until spring.

Hop-Hornbeam, Ostrya carpinifolia
Hornbeam, Carpinus betulus
Spanish chestnut, Castanea sativa
Oaks, Quercus
Beech, Fagus sylvatica
Elms, Ulmus

Conifers deciduous:
Baldcypress, Taxodium distichum
Ginkgo biloba
Larch, Larix
Dawn Redwood glyptostroboides


go back on the previous page return at the beginning

Rubric Pictures

Research of pictures on the site
     · Site map · Glossary·
· add to favorites · the autor · Contribution · Data policy · Passions, Travels, Poems, La Fontaine
Copyright© 2000 · 2024
Do Not Sell My Personal Information